Am I a Winner or a Loser?

As the year comes to an end, my husband and I still haven’t met the $4,000 deductible on our health insurance.  Since he is a partner in a law firm, we pay both the employer and the employee portion of our health insurance premiums, around $15,000, so you might feel that we wasted all that premium money, that we are health care losers.

Our premiums obviously went to subsidize someone else’s health care, some poor thing who needed cancer treatment or heart surgery.  Is that person a winner, because he got more than he paid in?

What about the fact that my house didn’t burn down or that I wasn’t in a car accident, yet I spent a lot on home and auto insurance?  Am I loser there too?

Having spent my 62nd year in good health, with the comfort of knowing that if I got very sick, I didn’t have to worry about losing my house and savings, I am feeling very much a winner.  I’d rather not be puking my way through chemo or hooked to machines in intensive care with bazillion stitches in my chest.

My insurance premiums bought peace of mind, which to me is worth far more than I spent.  For those who don’t care about peace of mind, you can build your house of straw for just $95 under Obamacare.

 

6 comments on “Am I a Winner or a Loser?

  1. momshieb says:

    The whole insurance situation is so incredibly complex here……Are we perhaps all losers in some way? I don’t know……..

    • The employer-based health care system we’ve had since WWII has made us all losers to some extent. It’s kept wages down. It’s helped health care cost skyrocket because the person using the system and the person paying are not the same — consumers have not had enough skin in the game for many decades, so costs have risen astronomically without anyone questioning them. We haven’t had a true free market in health care. For stuff that insurance doesn’t cover, like Lasik surgery, costs have gone down, not up. It’s part of the reason why things are so much more expensive here than in Europe, whether it’s for an MRI or delivery of a baby.

  2. danielfee says:

    I agree that insurance is there in case the unexpected happens and that if I don’t have to use it then I am a winner. It is a warped view to think that you are loser if you don’t get sick and winner if you do.

Leave a Reply

