Quote of the Day

“The possibility of a broad government sweep of domestic telephone data in pursuit of potential terrorists has long been suspected by civil liberties advocates and even hinted at by members of Congress.”

“Documents Point To Effort By U.S. To Get Web Data,” Charlie Savage and Edward Wyatt, NYT

I think anyone who has been paying attention over the years and taken note of the grumbling about Section 215 of the Patriot Act has no reason to be surprised about the release of a specific classified FISA order to Verizon.  Agree with it or not, it’s no shocker.

As for Prism, the program getting Internet information rather than phone records, if it’s true that the government is looking only at communications by foreigners who are overseas, I’d be upset if they weren‘t doing this.  To me, this seems essential to keeping us safe.

 

One comment on “Quote of the Day

  1. momshieb says:

    None of this surprises me in the least: every ad agency on earth is watching our on line lives (Oh, Doctor Oz, how your ads haunt me!) but it sure as hell makes me angry and upset when it is the government and when it is done in secret.
    I don’t believe for a single second that real terrorists, with credible plans, are posting that info on Facebook. And I really wonder if I am on someone’s list out there, given my emails and Skypes and facebook chats with my friends in Tunisia.
    Unlimited secret surveillance is the biggest threat to “democracy” that there could possibly be.

Leave a Reply

